February Favorites

Here are some of the things I’ve really enjoyed this month.

1. One of my goals this year is to read 30 books. One of the books I’ve enjoyed so far is Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way. I love the connection she draws often between spirituality and creativity. It’s weighty but I can’t bring myself to put it down. It’s reflection-driven which means it’s taking a while to get through, but the questions it prompt are great ways to challenge one’s own assumptions and slowly re-awaken dreams that may have been lying dormant.

artistsway

I know that some people use it as a creativity-unblocking tool, taking a few months to go through, chapter by chapter. I may do that as some point, but for now, I’m enjoying the book as a way to nurture my creativity.

2. One of my new favorite podcasts is Cinephilia Anonymous. Two guys who are into gaming talk about the movies they like. That does not sound like the premise for a podcast I’d be into, but I was wrong. Their intuitive side shows in the way they get deep into whatever movie they discuss, whether it be Inception or Clueless. Their enthusiasm is palpable and contagious.

cinephiliaanonymous

I find myself wanting to watch or re-watch the movies they’ve talked about, so that I can re-listen to the episodes and enjoy them even more. Definitely a favorite right now.

3. Another one of my goals this year is to learn 30 vegan recipes. Right now, curried vegetables is delicious!

Leave a Reply

