#14daysoflove2k15

February was the month of Love, I decided. Even as a single person who can count her involvement in romantic relationships on one hand, Valentine’s Day is my second favorite holiday of the year. That took years to admit to myself and to fully accept. I’ve spent years on both sides of this holiday. I’ve looked forward to it with high expectations and been disappointed and I’ve spent the day bitter, resentful of people celebrating their love via sentimental posts on Facebook.

Now, I love it. For me, Valentine’s Day is a chance to slow down during a very cold season, to notice and appreciate those around us.

So, I decided that one day would not be enough for Love this year. I decided that I would start on the first day of the month and celebrate till the red day: V-day! I came up with a plan that would include self-care and a chance to connect with those around me. It turned out to be a great idea:

1. I took the time during those 14 days to reconnect with friends I hadn’t talked to in a while.

2. I indulged in my favorite foods including chocolate and practiced yoga and journaling.

3. I surprised my parents with a celebration of their 30th wedding anniversary, complete with flowers and cake.

4. I connected with people who have been married for at least 1 year, 5 years and over 10 years and asked them two simple questions: things they wished they knew before getting married and advice they would give to a single person before they entered a relationship. I received so many insightful comments (that I’ll develop into a series later).

5. I attended a Galentine’s day party with friends, complete with a viewing of  the movie Bridesmaids (so relevant!) and a cookie decorating session.

Overall, it was a good way to find joy in February, a month that can sometimes be characterized as a series of gray, cold and miserable days.

Even after February 14, I carried that spirit with me throughout February, reminding myself to express gratitude directly to the people I’m thankful for, and doing my best to infuse every day with a little bit of self-care.

Here’s a playlist I made to get into the mood for the Month of Love because there’s nothing that says celebration like a good playlist 🙂

Leave a Reply

