Things I’d Tell My Younger Self (Part 1…probably)

quilt

I used to say I’d to tell my younger self, this:

Just…relax. Everything will work out. I promise.

Only,

I realize these days that I can’t. That may be right for someone else, but so completely wrong for me.

Why?

Because I’m the most laid-back stressed out person I know. Or is it the most stressed out laid -back person?

I function best when I’m a little stressed out. It’s like, I manage to gather all this massive (scattered) energy into focus when stress is present. The relaxed version of me is almost too relaxed, too at ease, too careless.

So, no, younger self, don’t just relax. And I even know you’ll ask me, “How do you know everything will work out? Who are you?” and I’ll say “I’m you, I’ve seen the future. It’s not that bad.” and I know you wouldn’t believe me anyway because you have trouble emotionally trusting people who aren’t you…in the present moment. So…wig out a little, from time to time. Just make sure you’re not hurting anyone when you do it.

I’d say this instead:

Hold on to the things and people that make you feel good. There are many things that will momentarily knock you down, from time to time. As long as you hold on to the things and people that make you feel good, you’ll be alright. Some of these things may change, and so will the people (and that’s okay). As long as you can, hold on to the ones that matter. 

Photo: courtesy of  quiltmakertg

One thought on “Things I’d Tell My Younger Self (Part 1…probably)

Leave a Reply

