The 3-on-3 Interview (INFP Edition): RyaN FP

A while ago, I reached out to some people around the internet that I’ve grown to admire and respect. Something about them made me want to know more. So, I reached out with 3 questions and demanded…(not really), more like politely asked them to share some words with us. Thankfully, they agreed. For the first round, we’re focusing on INFPs. Partly, because I’m selfish (a little) and also because I’d like to do a service for all those INFPs who may be younger (or not) and wondering what they can do with their talents…or simply wondering if there are other people out there like them. 

Intro:

Ryan

I found Ryan’s channel on Youtube via Kendra‘s. Not having met many INFPs that are guys, I was intrigued. I reached out awkwardly via the comments section and the rest, as they say, is history. Ryan is a Film and Art History student/musician/aspiring film maker and Youtuber. Don’t let this affect your own choice, but my favorite video of his so far has to be this (I’m a sucker for drums 🙂 )

Ryan?

1. What 3 songs would be in the soundtrack of your life?

The National – “Exile Vilify”

When I first heard this song, I was a freshman at University. It was about 3 am, my roommate was fast asleep in his top bunk, and I was browsing stumbleupon on the futon when I came to a page that mixed this song with a track of gentle rain. The piano drew me in, and then the words reduced me to tears. It was speaking directly to me; taunting me, yet comforting me at the same time. Because I felt I had given up—given up on being honest with myself in an atmosphere that couldn’t have possibly been called ‘home’ (I lived in one of the ‘top 5 partying dorms in the country’); not with the habitual drunks roaming the hallways all nights of the week, smearing peanut butter on the walls, pounding on doors at four in the morning shouting to their passed-out frat buddies to ‘wake the fuck up’, high-fiving the next morning about that drunk bitch they fucked last night and how much alcohol they drank… The external pressures of my living condition had caused me to exile myself and vilify those around me, and this song came along at just the right time to produce a catharsis that I absolutely needed.

Cake – “Nugget”

I love everything about Cake, from the instruments they use, to their rhyme schemes, to the overall attitude they instill in their songs. Nugget is just so straight forward and bluntly honest, like I sometimes can be and like I most times wish I could be just a little more of. Like, shut the fuck up!

Jamie Woon – “Night Air (Ramadanman Refix)”

This refix captures a lot of my interests and truths. The crispness of the marching-style snare that Ramadanman adds might be my favorite thing about the whole track, and this track has so much to offer me. The lyrics cut to my core, the pace penetrates my soul. I also think my interest in bass culture needs to be represented in my soundtrack, so there you go.

2. What are 3 projects (creative or not) that you’d like to undertake before leaving earth?

1) I’d like to write a feature length screenplay and direct it.

2) I need to travel and see most if not all of the world before I go. It’s my sole inspiration for finding financial success.

3) I’m not sure if you could call it a ‘project’, but I’d really really like to wind up working with animals at some point in my life. I don’t know how one goes about it, if it requires qualifications, or even what exactly I’m envisioning when I say it, but I’ve always felt a deeper connection to most animals than to most humans. For example, when I was about 11, my family took a trip to South Dakota and we were touring the plains and came across a pack of wild horses. Now, I’ve seen some horrifying videos of what wild horses are capable of, and looking back I’m amazed I was allowed to approach the thing, but the guide gave me a handful of grain and would you believe it, the beautiful thing ate the grain right out of my hand! It was a seriously cool experience, and to be honest I think everyone who was there had one of those “ahw” moments.

3. What are 3 books that changed your life?

The third question is supposed to be what books have changed your life, but to be honest I’ve been away from personal/pleasure reading in favor of film manuals and journals for so long that it didn’t seem appropriate to try to answer the question. As a film student, I decided instead (with Mak’s consent) to cover 3 films that have greatly impacted my development as both an individual and an amateur of the cinema.

Mutual Appreciation (2005)– dir. Andrew Bujalski

I first saw this film in a class I took on independent American cinema. It’s part of a recent film movement reluctantly referred to as “mumblecore”. The concept of it blew my mind; this film basically single-handedly gave me the confidence that you can create thought-provoking, original content with no more than a handheld camera, a few friends, a couch, and zero budget. In addition, the dialogue style of mumblecore is unlike anything I had seen in a feature-length film before—it’s so incredibly lifelike. Being such a student of film, I think I can attribute some of my long-lasting social anxieties to the conventions of Hollywood dialogue: one is expected to know exactly what they want to say, and to say it effortlessly, doubtlessly, without a hitch every time. Bujalski makes his characters just the opposite; they don’t know what they want, and they’re never quite sure what exactly they mean either. I love that.

Magnolia (1999)– dir. Paul Thomas Anderson

If you want to have your emotions bombarded for 188 minutes, watch Magnolia. To be honest I can’t even form a proper commentary on how it changed my life, because frankly I’m still recovering from the punches to my heart that it delivered. One after another. Two of my absolute favorite actors are in it (Philip Seymour Hoffman and Julianne Moore—whose star role in Todd Haynes’ “Safe” could’ve made this list as well), and just, seriously, watch it if you haven’t.

Simple Men (1992)– dir. Hal Hartley

This film did much the same thing for me that Mutual Appreciation did, but in reverse. The over-stylization of basically everything in it is just so fun to watch. It’s so constructed, the film, but it’s not hiding the fact. Cyclical dialogue drives home the points that are important, blatant lens gels create overt moods through color, and the plot itself is absolutely ludicrous. Basically, Simple Men and Mutual Appreciation both take notions of style and conventions of cinema and either subvert them or take them to the extreme. That these films are widely accepted as excellent works gives me confidence in my own eccentricities. Because of these films, I’m not so afraid to show you what I think a film should be like.

Wow, thank you for the  glimpse into the mind of a filmmaker and film enthusiast, Ryan! I’ll definitely be checking out these movies.

Outro:

Did you enjoy this interview? Questions or comments?  Let us know in the comments below.

2 thoughts on “The 3-on-3 Interview (INFP Edition): RyaN FP

Leave a Reply

